GPF User Management
All options concerning Management can only be found by admin users in the Management tab from the upper left corner menu
Quick start guide
How to create a new user?
How to specify permissions for a given user?
Actions towards users
Every user is represented by a row on the table shown in the Users category on the Management tab. The delete user, remove/reset password actions can be seen in the Actions column for every user in question.
Clicking on the middle icon in the Actions column, resets the password of the user shown on the current row. This button will send the user in question an email with a corresponding link, obligating them to choose a new password for their account.
Clicking on the utmost left icon in the Actions column, removes the password of the user shown on the current row. After completing this action, in order for the user in question to acquire a new password, clicking on the Reset password button will be necessary.
Clicking on the utmost right ‘X’ icon in the Actions column, deletes the user shown on the current row.
Admins can create new users and associate them with groups. The Create user button is located on the top right corner of the Users page.
This button will open a page, where the new user’s email, name or additional groups can be entered. After every mandatory field is filled, clicking the Submit button will create a new user.
After a new user is added, in order for them to log into their newly created account, an admin should reset the user’s password. See Reset password for more.
Whether a user has a password or not can be seen in the ‘Has password’ column, where a tick symbol indicates ‘yes’ and empty cell ‘no’.
Any user’s email or default groups cannot be changed but the Name of the user can. Clicking on any user’s email address will lead to a page, where their user name can be changed.
Clicking Submit will remember the new changes.
Actions towards groups
The search bar for groups is located on the upper left in the Users category in the Management tab.
Add/Remove group from a user
Only admins can assign or remove groups. Interacting with users is achieved via the Users category in the Management tab from the menu.
In order to assign a new group to a user, click on the blue link of the user’s email address.
This will open a page, allowing for the selected user’s information to be edited. Groups can be added by using the Other Groups dropdown menu option or removed by clicking the ‘X’ in the same menu option.
Remove group from user - shortcut
Next to every user’s groups, an ‘X’ symbol can be found. By clicking it, the selected group will be removed from the user.
Default groups cannot be removed.
Add/Remove groups from multiple users at once
Using the boxes in the ‘Select’ column, multiple users can be selected at once. Ticking the box under select will select all, while clicking it a second time will select none.
After the desired users are selected, by choosing an option from the Bulk edit dropdown menu, groups can be either removed or added to them.
After choosing an option, a new page will appear, allowing you to pick groups to remove or add.
Groups are entities that associate users with datasets. If a user wishes to access a certain dataset, he has to belong to a group containing that dataset. Users and datasets can be in multiple groups simultaneously.
When a new user or dataset is created, they are automatically assigned to groups with their corresponding names.
Users assigned to the admin group, have all permissions. Only admin users can view or interact with other users, groups or datasets.
firstname.lastname@example.org is a group that all unregistered users belong to. They lack permissions for accessing most of the datasets. Inaccessible datasets are shown in grey color.
Certain datasets are visible to every registered user. They belong to the any_user group which is automatically assigned to every account and cannot be removed.
any_dataset is a group that contains all of the available datasets. Admins are usually subscribed to this group.
In the Groups tab on the Management menu, the groups column can be sorted by clicking on the arrows at the end of the Group column title.
By clicking on the down arrow, it allows the existing groups to be sorted alphabetically in descending order, while the up arrow sorts them in ascending order.
In the Datasets tab on the Management menu, GUI users can observe information about which users have access to a dataset or which groups does a dataset belong to.
Adding group to a dataset
In the Datasets tab, by typing group names in the text bar in the ‘Groups with access’ column, and then clicking ‘Add’, existing groups can be assigned to datasets.